[5/31/08 Currently Out of Print. Click 'order' button for Amazon alternative sources]

Jerry Garcia Band Live 2-CD Set Shining Star

read review

The second of two JGB releases in 2001, in addition to the 1/23/01 release Don't Let Go (5/21/76)

update: The cover art is by Neil Osborn


According to GD Archivist David Lemieux, "Shining Star" is a compilation of live recordings from 1989-1993, at various venues, from the JGB featured on "How Sweet It Is."

CD 1:

  • Shining Star
  • He Ain't Give You None
  • Second That Emotion
  • Money Honey
  • Struggling Man
  • Russian Lullaby
  • Everybody Needs Somebody To Love

CD 2:

  • Let's Spend The Night Together
  • Mississippi Moon
  • Let It Rock
  • When The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
  • Ain't No Bread In The Breadbox
  • Positively 4th Street
  • The Maker
  • Midnight Moonlight

  • The Album: A collection of previously unreleased performances recorded in the late '80s and early '90s.
  • Features the longest-running lineup (1984-1994) of the Jerry Garcia Band: vocalist/guitarist Garcia, bassist John Kahn, drummer David Kemper, keyboardist Melvin Seals and vocalists Gloria Jones & Jackie LaBranch.
  • Contains covers of great songs by Van Morrison, Bob Dylan, Smokey Robinson, Jimmy Cliff, Chuck Berry, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Solomon Burke, The Manhattans and Irving Berlin.
  • Digitally remastered recordings from original source tapes.
  • CD1 tracks include: "Shining Star," "He Ain't Give You None," "Second That Emotion," "Money Honey," "Struggling Man," "Russian Lullaby" and "Everybody Needs Somebody To Love."
  • CD2 tracks include: "Let's Spend The Night Together," "Mississippi Moon," "Let It Rock," "When The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game," "Ain't No Bread In The Breadbox," "Positively 4th Street," "The Maker" and "Midnight Moonlight."